What happens if someone is found to have been driving while intoxicated in Rhode Island?
Driving while intoxicated is against the law.
The following are the minimum punishments for driving while intoxicated in Rhode Island (first offense) with a BAC between 0.08 and 0.10 below:
- Fines and costs totaling up to $800.00
- 10 to 60 hours of community service
- 30-180 days of license suspension
- Up to one year in jail
- Enrollment in a driving school and/or alcohol treatment program
- The need to maintain proof of responsibility for three years
- Insurance requirements for registrations
For second and subsequent infractions and convictions, there are harsher consequences, including required Jail Time.
Our knowledgeable attorneys at the Law Offices of Senerchia & Sheehan can help you navigate the procedure and ensure that your rights are upheld.
Our team of Attorneys are knowledgeable about the legal system, have the power to reduce your sentence, win back your license, possibly clear your record, lessen the stress of the proceedings, and even succeed in having your case dismissed entirely!
If you are interested in learning more about working with the Law Offices of Senerchia & Sheehan on your DUI/DWI charge, reach our offices today!
Schedule a call with one of our attorneys today: 401-615-3880
Email: [email protected]
The Law Offices of Senerchia & Sheehan and a family-owned company with a mission of putting families first. We take great pride in being able to assist members of our community get back to a stress-free life.
Disclaimers: This article is used for reference only and not intended to be legal advice. If you are looking for Legal counsel, please call our firm today!